Snowy owl

According to The Cornell Lab, the snowy owl will even entice non-birders out for a look. I can see why. I mentioned in a previous post that I had driven north east of Calgary in search of snowy owls to no avail. Yesterday I went south east, near Frank Lake and was thrilled to find one.

I think this female was trying to cough up a pellet.

_mg_4481
Snowy Owl laughing at me

Another car pulled up causing her to take flight – truly magical.

_mg_4680
Snowy Owl, near Frank Lake Alberta

For some fantastic pictures of Snowy Owls, see Christopher Martin’s post as well as Birds Calgary.

Thanks for reading!

Debbie

Leave a Reply

